Announcing 2017 Winners of South Central CSC Scholarships

4.20.2017 (Thu)

“I am completely independent and self-supporting, so I cannot express how grateful I am for being a recipient of the South Central Climate Science Center Scholarship…I hope that one day I can give back to the wonderful community of Norman. This award will absolutely help me achieve my academic goals and contribute to my success at OU.” – Kolt Vaughn, Environmental Sustainability major, 2017 Scholarship Awardee

Supporting students is an important part of our mission here at the South Central Climate Science Center. Each year, we provide several scholarships for outstanding students attending our host institution, the University of Oklahoma (OU). These scholarships help students interested in environmental issues to accomplish their professional goals and advance the field.  We are excited to announce the five recipients of this year’s scholarships!

International Studies Scholarship

The South Central Climate Science Center International Studies Scholarship was created to assist OU students pursuing a summer study abroad program. Undergraduates of any major at OU are eligible for this honor.  The scholarship amount awarded is $5,000, and the awardees will complete a project related to climate during their trip. This year, we are pleased to announce three recipients:

Calen Cline (below)
Major: Anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences
Study Abroad Location: Tanzania

Anika Saynyarack (below)
Major: Architecture, College of Architecture
Study Abroad Locations: Germany, France and the Netherlands

Morgan Fehrle
Major: Biology, College of Arts and Sciences
Study Abroad Location: Bonaire, Caribbean Netherlands

Department of Geography and Environmental Sustainability Scholarship

In addition to the International scholarships, the South Central Climate Science Center also awards $1,000 scholarships thanks to a generous donor to the Center who wishes to remain anonymous. These awards are presented to outstanding undergraduates from any major within the Department of Geography & Environmental Sustainability.  This year, the two recipients were:


Kolt Vaughn (above), BS in Environmental Sustainability, Class of 2019.

Madelynn Whitney, BS in Environmental Sustainability, Class of 2018.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!